My Month in Books: May ’18 Edition

Hey everyone, it’s been a while since I last posted. I took a bit of a hiatus as a bunch of things came together. May is AP test season and since I was taking 5 exams (I know!) there was a lot of last minute studying and brushing up to do. After that the school year began to come to a close and a bunch of end of the year projects and paper were dumped in my lap, which left me scrambling. Toss in the beginning of Ramadan and this past month was a whirlwind. but now, as of yesterday I am done with school and have endless amounts of free time and so I’m back with a vengeance. I’m so excited I graduate in exactly one week and then I’m free for a couple months and then off to college!

Although the month was pretty busy I did manage to squeeze in reading time for quite a few books. I’m really excited for the next few months cause I’ll get a bunch of reading done. There are quite a few books I’ve had my eyes on that I’m excited to dive into. My goal for the summer is not only to read more but also review more. Something I haven’t done in what feels like forever. I also want to catch up on my TBR and will hopefully be reading more of those books rather than new releases. I’ve gone on for quite a while now so here are the books I managed to read this month.Read More »

Advertisements

My Month In Books: March ’18 Edition

I’m not really sure how I feel about this past month, it actually went by really fast. A lot faster then I was expecting at any rate. There were a few ups and downs over these past few weeks, but I’ve managed to power through. The school year is almost over for me and that seems crazy. In a little more than two months I’ll have graduated from high school and I’m really not ready for that.

I’ve heard back from all my colleges at this point and after a few acceptances, some rejections and one waitlist, I now need to decide where I will spend the next four years of my life. I’ve been living in a constant state of denial trying to deal with the changes coming up ahead. So far my coping technique has been burying my head in the sand and attempting not to dwell on my future by distracting myself the best way I know how: reading. Because of that I’ve read quite a few books this month so let’s take a look at those very books.Read More »

The Lure of Fantasy

What makes fantasy so entrancing to me? Ever since I was little, fantasy has been the genre of choice. Starting with Alice in Wonderland and then the pull becoming much stronger when I read Harry Potter. Whenever anyone asks what my favorite type of books are my go to answer is fantasy and then there’s the inevitable follow up question. Why? Well, I am here to delve deep into my subconscious to try and explain exactly why I love fantasy and what about it attracts my attention.  uu9pmDPRead More »

The Sky Is Yours Review

34837145Title: The Sky Is Yours

Author: Chandler Klang Smith

Release date: January 23, 2018

Publisher: Hogarth

Pages: 464

Ratings2000px-2_stars-svg

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from blogging for books in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts presented in the review are mine.

Synopsis:

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure

In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they’ve ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.

Read More »

My Month in Books: February’18 Edition

Another month and more books read. February was a weird month, looking back on it, it seems to have lasted forever, but it’s the shortest month. That probably has to do with the fact that I’m a second-semester senior and time just seems to be dragging on. I did manage to read a grand total of 16 books this month (YAY) and really enjoyed them.

In non-bookish news, the school year seems to be dragging on and college is looming large. Decisions need to be made-soon! as my parents keep reminding me- and I’ve had the last of my interviews over the past month. Back to book-ish news; I went to LibraryPalooza again this year, and had a lot of fun at that bookish convention. With all of that out of the way, let’s get back to why were here, the books I read this month:

belle-reading-gif.gifRead More »

City of Bones Review

city_of_bonesTitle: City of Bones The Mortal Instruments #1

Author: Cassandra Clare

Release Date: March 27, 2007

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Pages: 485

Rating: 5_stars-svg

Synopsis:

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Read More »

My Month in Books: January’18 Edition

Since my GoodReads goal was set at 1 book I can now say that I’ve already finished my GoodReads goal of the year! It was a bit of a struggle but I made it…barely. All joking aside, I had a really good reading month. I read six book in total and I ended up enjoying all of them. Not a bad seed in the bunch. Which was totally unexpected and awesome. I was hoping to finish my current read ( The Fiery Cross) in time, but didn’t make it with a little less than 50 pages left but that’ll definitely be my first read of February, and before I keep prattling along for ages here are the books that made up January for me.

Read More »