All American Boys Review

25657130Title: All American Boys

Author: Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

Release date: September 29, 2015

Publisher: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books

Page number: 316

Rating:5_stars-svg

Synopsis:

Rashad is absent again today.

That’s the sidewalk graffiti that started it all…

Well, no, actually, a lady tripping over Rashad at the store, making him drop a bag of chips, was what started it all. Because it didn’t matter what Rashad said next—that it was an accident, that he wasn’t stealing—the cop just kept pounding him. Over and over, pummeling him into the pavement. So then Rashad, an ROTC kid with mad art skills, was absent again…and again…stuck in a hospital room. Why? Because it looked like he was stealing. And he was a black kid in baggy clothes. So he must have been stealing.

And that’s how it started.

And that’s what Quinn, a white kid, saw. He saw his best friend’s older brother beating the daylights out of a classmate. At first Quinn doesn’t tell a soul…He’s not even sure he understands it. And does it matter? The whole thing was caught on camera, anyway. But when the school—and nation—start to divide on what happens, blame spreads like wildfire fed by ugly words like “racism” and “police brutality.” Quinn realizes he’s got to understand it, because, bystander or not, he’s a part of history. He just has to figure out what side of history that will be.

Rashad and Quinn—one black, one white, both American—face the unspeakable truth that racism and prejudice didn’t die after the civil rights movement. There’s a future at stake, a future where no one else will have to be absent because of police brutality. They just have to risk everything to change the world.

Cuz that’s how it can end.

Read More »

Advertisements

The Sky Is Yours Review

34837145Title: The Sky Is Yours

Author: Chandler Klang Smith

Release date: January 23, 2018

Publisher: Hogarth

Pages: 464

Ratings2000px-2_stars-svg

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from blogging for books in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts presented in the review are mine.

Synopsis:

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure

In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they’ve ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.

Read More »

My Month in Books: February’18 Edition

Another month and more books read. February was a weird month, looking back on it, it seems to have lasted forever, but it’s the shortest month. That probably has to do with the fact that I’m a second-semester senior and time just seems to be dragging on. I did manage to read a grand total of 16 books this month (YAY) and really enjoyed them.

In non-bookish news, the school year seems to be dragging on and college is looming large. Decisions need to be made-soon! as my parents keep reminding me- and I’ve had the last of my interviews over the past month. Back to book-ish news; I went to LibraryPalooza again this year, and had a lot of fun at that bookish convention. With all of that out of the way, let’s get back to why were here, the books I read this month:

belle-reading-gif.gifRead More »

Duskfall Review

duskfallTitle: Duskfall Chaos Queen #1

Author: Christopher Husberg

Release Date: June 21st 2016

Publisher: Titan Books

Pages: 557

Rating: 5_stars-svg

Synopsis:

Stuck with arrows and close to death, a man is pulled from the icy waters of the Gulf of Nahl. Winter, a seemingly quiet young fisherman’s daughter, harbours a secret addiction that threatens to destroy her. A young priestess, Cinzia, must face a long journey home to protect her church from rebellion. A rebellion sparked by her sister.

Three characters on different paths will be brought together by fate on one thrilling and perilous adventure.

Read More »

The Book Courtship Tag

Today is the day of love, otherwise known as Valentines day and what better way to celebrate then with a Valentine-ish book tag. My valentines day will consist of me listening to Ed Sheeran’s Perfect on repeat while eating chocolate and ice cream and reading a good book. I first saw this over at the OrangutanLibrarians blog, so definitely go check out that post. Here are my answers to The Book Courtship Tag. Read More »

City of Bones Review

city_of_bonesTitle: City of Bones The Mortal Instruments #1

Author: Cassandra Clare

Release Date: March 27, 2007

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books

Pages: 485

Rating: 5_stars-svg

Synopsis:

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.

Read More »

My Month in Books: January’18 Edition

Since my GoodReads goal was set at 1 book I can now say that I’ve already finished my GoodReads goal of the year! It was a bit of a struggle but I made it…barely. All joking aside, I had a really good reading month. I read six book in total and I ended up enjoying all of them. Not a bad seed in the bunch. Which was totally unexpected and awesome. I was hoping to finish my current read ( The Fiery Cross) in time, but didn’t make it with a little less than 50 pages left but that’ll definitely be my first read of February, and before I keep prattling along for ages here are the books that made up January for me.

Read More »