The Battle Against the Book Slump

Book slumps; the one thing all book worms despise. We never know when it’ll hit. It may come out of nowhere and make you uninclined to read another book. It can creep in slowly and you find yourself having to push yourself to read a book and then slowly and painstakingly make your way through a book and by the end you find yourself in the midst of a book drought and it doesn’t matter what book you read, you just won’t find yourself engaging with the book.

Last month I found myself in the middle of an awful book slump. The school year had ended and I was getting excited for all the books I would be able to read but I would start a book read 20-50 pages and then put it down, not connecting with what I was reading. Soon I gave up attempting to read at all and whiled away the time. Book slumps suck and I was determined not to let it ruin my summer so I sought ways to see it and lo and behold I got the book slump to end. I engaged it to head on and emerged victorious in the age old battle of reader vs book slump.

Step 1: Identify the Cause 

One of the reasons I wasn’t reading was because I was partaking in another form of entertainment and that was Netflix. Most of my favorite shows had come to Netflix during May/ June and I wasn’t able to watch them because school (finals ugh) but with endless hours to waste during the summer I threw myself into watching all the shows and that left very little time for reading. I was hooked on the visual plotlines Netflix presented and couldn’t tear myself away to read. Now that I knew what was responsible for causing my book slump I had to address it head on. By this point, I had caught up on most of the shows and made sure that I sat down for an hour at least and force myself to spend some time reading.

Step 2: Go to the Safe Place 

I’ve found the best way to combat a book clump is head for the familiar r favorite and so I decided to read a genre I never get tired of…some contemporary romance. These books are always light fun and mostly short reads that can pull you out of any funk. I read what feels like dozens of them and soon, I began spending less time watching Netflix and more reading. The schedule was finally a bit more balanced. I slowly branched out to other genres and before you know it the book slump has been conquered!

This isn’t a foolproof 2 step way to win in a battle against the book slump but it should work as intended…at least it did for me!

Do you guys have anything specific you do to conquer a book slump? What type of books get you into or out of one? Let’s discuss!

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “The Battle Against the Book Slump

  1. I’ve seen a lot of post about books slumps, and most people recommend just going with the slump and finding other things to do, but this is the first one I’ve seen with tips on how to actually fix it and get back to reading! I tend to just be in denial about slumps LOL. Like, I know they’re happening, but I just keep reading anyway and try to power through 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I try to power through but after awhile if I’m still in that book slump mood I tend to give up, but sometimes when you power through, you come across a gem of a book that just manages to pull you out of the slump. 🙂

      Like

  2. I am in a reading slump right now… It typically happens to me when I’ve read a few too many “ehh” books. Those ones where I’m just not THAT impressed. Reading them one after the other kills my reading motivation. I am currently perusing other people’s blogs because I’m avoiding reading my current book. haha 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I fell into a book slump just recently! For me, it was because I was stressing over some things, and it was easier to slump on the couch and binge-watch shows. Once that passed, I picked up a book again and it was totally fine! I think murder mysteries tend to pull me out of slumps. An Agatha Christie novel or a Kerry Greenwood one usually ease me back into reading pretty quickly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

