I Dare You Book Tag

Hey, everyone! My summer has been going pretty well so far (knock on wood) and I’ve even managed to shake off the book slump I found myself in last month and have returned to reading with a vengeance. I saw this tag over on Shoto’s blog @Bookish Babbles and it seemed like a ton of fun so here goes.

Which book has been on your shelf the longest?

The Princess Bride by Wiliam Goldman has been on my shelf for years. I’ve watched the movie but as a lover of fantasy I’ve always wanted to read the original typical romantic fantasy, I’ll hopefully get around to it soon.

What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?

Last read: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Current reads: The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee (E-Book), The Lies Of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch (Physical), Now I Rise y Kiersten White (Audiobook)

Next read: Ruined by Amy Tintera

What books did everyone like and you hated?

Hate is a strong word but I didn’t like Archived by Victoria Schwab as much as so many people seem to love it. I want to like it but it’s just not my cup of tea. I do love Schwab’s other books I just don’t seem to enjoy this one as much as the others.

Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?

The entire A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R Martin. I love the TV show and I can’t wait for season 7 to premiere next Sunday, but I don’t think I’ll ever get around to reading it. There huge and there are so many characters I’m really intimidated by the entire series. I don’t think I’ll ever actually get around to reading it but we’ll see.

Which books are you saving for retirement?

The Lord of the Rings/ The Hobbit by J. R.R Tolkien is always on my to-read list and I’m saving for a rainy day. These books have such a following that I know I need to read them and see what the fuss is about

The last page: read it first or wait till the end?

I went through this phase when I was in middle school where I would literally read the entire book summary before I read the book just so I could be prepared,  but now I’m strictly a wait till the end NO SPOILERS type of gal.

Acknowledgments: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?

I love reading the acknowledgments, I like to appreciate all the people who were involved in bringing that books that you’re reading to life.

Which book character would you switch places with?

As much as I love reading I don’t ever imagine myself as the character themselves, and I’m more of an invisible ghost just watching all the action. Besides that our MC usually lead pretty dangerous lives I’d have more fun being an innocent bystander who manages to escape becoming collateral damage.

Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?

The Lightning Theif reminds me of elementary school, especially the 4th and 5th grade where everyone was obsessed with Riordan’s books and we formed this group called the Greek Freaks and read literally everything on mythology we could find! 

Name a book that you acquired in an interesting way?

I found a book on a bus once, not really interesting but it’s not the usual either. 

Have you ever given a book away for a special reason to a special person?

Not that I can remember I’ve given people books for their birthdays but nothing too special. 

Which book has been with you to the most places?

City of Bones by Cassie Clare has followed me since I first read it back in 2014, I’ve read it what feels like a million times and it still remains a huge part of my life.

Any required reading you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?

I’m now a senior in high school and I’ve read close to 10 books over the past three years for school and I’ve either loved them (To Kill a Mockingbird, Julius Ceaser, Antigone, Animal Farm, Fahrenheit 451, The Great Gatsby, Anthem, The Outliers, Night) or hated them ( The Red Badge of Courage, The Catcher in the Rye, Of Mice and Men) or just didn’t read them at allSparknotes– (Slaughter House 5). My original opinions have yet to change.

What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?

The strangest item I’ve ever found was a girls transcript, it was in a library book so it wasn’t too shocking.

Used or brand new?

Used books all the way, I love going to Half Price Books and getting lots of books at great deals.

Have you ever read a Dan Brown book?

I’ve only ever read Inferno by him and I love that book, I must have read it close to 5 times alone the summer before my freshman year… I was obsessed.

Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?

I love both the book and the movie but the adapted version of Ella Enchanted is just a little bit better!

A book that never should have been published?

There’s only one book I intensely dislike enough to think that the world without it would be just slightly better and that is The Red Badge of Courage. I read it for school and I hate it with a passion!

Have you ever read a book that made you hungry, cookbook excluded?

I’m drawing a total blank here but I don’t think reading a book has ever made me feel hungry. 

Who is the person whose book advice you will always take?

My brother always gives solid advice once it comes to books, he was the one who pushed me to read Cassandra Clare, Sarah J Maas, and Rick Riordan’s books. And these are all my absolute favorite authors so I always take his advice where it comes to which book I should read!

You should definitely take on this tag, I dare YOU!

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “I Dare You Book Tag

  1. I’m so glad you did this and I loved reading your answers 😀
    Greek Freaks sounds like such a fun club – I would’ve joined in a heartbeat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

