My Month In Books: May Wrap-Up

As this month comes to an end so does the school year, although technically I have my last final on June 1st, I now consider the school year to be over. I read a lot more books than I originally anticipated this month. It started off a bit hectic what with AP exams and then after 1 weeks reprieve began finals, somehow in the midst of all the last-minute projects and cramming I managed to read 13 books. I think that a record high for me this month in terms of books read per month. I also managed to reach my original Goodreads goal of reading 50 books this year so I’ve decided to aim higher and raised it to 150 books and hopefully, this upcoming summer can allow me to make a dent on that. I’ve rambled on for long enough so here are the books I read this month.

Young Adult

may17yaGeekerella by Ashley Poston 2000px-4-5_stars-svg|Review

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas 5_stars-svg

It’s almost summer which is basically the contemporary season and so I thought I could get a head start and read a few this month. I really enjoyed reading Geekerella; modern re-tellings are always fun. The Hate U Give has a special place in my heart, it addressed so many issues that are extremely relevant in our society that people really need to be talking about. It was sad and heartwarming but also shows the flaws in our society and system that we need to fix. You should You should definitely, pick it up if you haven’t already.

Fantasy

may17fantsay.jpgThe Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss 5_stars-svg|Review|

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare 5_stars-svg

A Court Of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas 5_stars-svg|Review|

Fantasy is my favorite genre of all time and all the books I’ve read that fall into this category this month were absolutely amazing. I really enjoyed The Wise Man’s Fear and am going to die of anticipation before we get the last book. LoS broke my heart, Cassandra Clare managed to destroy me with her latest installment and a full review will hopefully be coming soon with all my thoughts.  I spent a whole year waiting for the release of ACOWAR and it didn’t disappoint ACOMAF is still my favorite in this series but I can’t wait for the spinoff series.

New Adult

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne  4_stars-svg|Review|

Idol by Kristen Callihan 4_stars-svg

Managed by Kristen Callihan 4_stars-svg

 Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie 535px-3_stars-svg

Dating-ish by Penny Reid 2000px-3-5_stars-svg

A huge reason why I love reading New adult is that I fly through them pretty quickly. Something about the way they are usually written or the format in which I read them (ebooks most of the time) makes them super quick reads and this month’s selection for me didn’t disappoint. For the most part, I really enjoyed all of these books and they helped me take my mind off the stresses of exam season.

may17na

Historical Romance

may17hr.jpgLove in the Afternoon by Lisa Kleypas 4_stars-svg

The Secret by Julie Garwood 2000px-3-5_stars-svg

Married by Morning by Lisa Kleypas 4_stars-svg

I went on a huge historical romance kick last month and for the most part that followed me into this month. I finished up the series I started last month and had a blast while doing so. After reading a whole bunch of this genre I kinda grew tired of it and wasn’t craving it as much and so I moved onto other books (books meaning ACOWAR).

Have you read any of these books? What did you think about them? What are a few books you read this month?

Happy Reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

