The Wise Man’s Fear Review

1215032Title: The Wise Man’s Fear

Author: Patrick Rothfuss

Release: March 1, 2011

Publisher: DAW Books

Page: 994 pages

Rating: 5_stars-svg

Synopsis:

There are three things all wise men fear: the sea in storm, a night with no moon, and the anger of a gentle man.

My name is Kvothe.
I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.
You may have heard of me.

So begins the tale of a hero told from his own point of view — a story unequaled in fantasy literature. Now in The Wise Man’s Fear, an escalating rivalry with a powerful member of the nobility forces Kvothe to leave the University and seek his fortune abroad. Adrift, penniless, and alone, he travels to Vintas, where he quickly becomes entangled in the politics of courtly society. While attempting to curry favor with a powerful noble, Kvothe uncovers an assassination attempt, comes into conflict with a rival arcanist, and leads a group of mercenaries into the wild, in an attempt to solve the mystery of who (or what) is waylaying travelers on the King’s Road.

All the while, Kvothe searches for answers, attempting to uncover the truth about the mysterious Amyr, the Chandrian, and the death of his parents. Along the way, Kvothe is put on trial by the legendary Adem mercenaries, is forced to reclaim the honor of the Edema Ruh, and travels into the Fae realm. There he meets Felurian, the faerie woman no man can resist, and who no man has ever survived…until Kvothe.
In The Wise Man’s Fear, Kvothe takes his first steps on the path of the hero and learns how difficult life can be when a man becomes a legend in his own time.

Overall thoughts:

Just like the first one this book absolutely blew my mind it was amazing. Somehow this book manage to be even better than the first one. For a thousand pages of pure perfection we followed Kvothe threw his life and it was awesome. I finished this book a couple days ago and I still haven’t managed to organise my thoughts so I can write a semi coherent review without using the words amazing and great until they become meaningless. If you haven’t read this yet you should, check out my review for the first book The Name of the Wind. The books manage to combine magic, history, fantasy, a magical school, a hint of romance exquisite writing to create a fantastic story you won’t be able to put down. i cant stop reading

Plot:

The books continue with the same format as the last one with the older Kvothe (Kote) telling his story to the Chronicler. We travel through quite an eventful year of kvothe’s life and we follow his quest through the university and beyond. Rothfuss writing continue to be absolutely beautiful and adds to the wonder of Kvothe’s story with the way he bring the story and worlds to life. There is so much detail present but I never got bogged down with it or felt overwhelmed. The third book has yet to release and I don’t know when it will. There’s still so much ahead that lies shrouded. Who did he kill to get the name Kingkiller? I’ve read dozens of fan theories and there are so many ways this can go.  The next book could release this year or any time in the next 2-3 years although it won’t take that long. I’ve already scoured the internet looking for books like this to to me over for the release of the last book in the trilogy.i want some more

Characters:

Kvothe: He continue to be a complex multi-faceted character and  really cant wait to get to the end of his story. He grew a lot in this book, and his maturity is very obvious I can only wait to see how his character continues to evolve in the upcoming book.

Denna: She continues to be a mystery to me and Kvothe both. They’re relationship is nothing short of complicated with Kvothe keeping himself at arms length and she keeping him there. I’m not sure if they will ever be a thing but I can’t help but feel she’ll have a tragic ending. I’m not really that emotionally conected to her character but I am interested to know hat happens with her.

Have you read this book yet? What did you think? Do you know of any books similar to this? I’d love to know!

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “The Wise Man’s Fear Review

  1. […] last book I read was The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss and I LOVED it. I wrote a whole review where I just gushed about the book. The thing I loved most about it would have to be the writing, […]

    Like

  2. […] Menon. But more generally I am currently in the mood for some epic fantasy ever since reading The Wise Man’s Fear. I’ve already got a few lined up that I’m excited to read. It is summer so its contemporary […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

