Daughter Of The Pirate King Review

daughterofthepiratekingsTitle: Daughter Of The Pirate King

Author: Tricia Levenseller

Release Date: February 28, 2017

Publisher: Feiwal And Friends

Pages: 320 Pages

Rating:2000px-4-5_stars-svg

Overall Thoughts:

I had high hopes going into this book and let me tell you I was not disappointed. This book promised me pirates, and a badass main character and I definitely got a lot of both. This being the first book I’ve read that had dealt solely with pirates, I’ve come to the conclusion that we need more pirate books. One: pirates are extremely good looking and you can never have too many cute fictional boys (and girls) running around and two: they are entertaining. I read this book in one sitting and I had the most fun reading this than I’ve had in awhile. If you haven’t already definitely go pick this up you’ll love it!

sparrowpirate

Synopsis:

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.
Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.
More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

The Plot:

The main character Alosa is the daughter of the pirate king (duh) and she allows herself to be captured by an enemy ship in order to steal something that she wants. Things get interesting as Alosa deals with the presence of the first mate of the enemy ship and she begins to have feelings (you know which ones I’m talking about). The pacing of the majority of the book was fairly steady, though the ending for me personally felt a little abrupt, it wasn’t a cliffhanger. There were a couple twists in the book that were thrown my way that I wasn’t expecting at all.

surprised

The Characters:

Alosa: This badass redhead is the main character of this book. She knows her way around weapons and is also very clever. I loved her and can’t wait to see more of her in the next book.

Draxen: I’m not very fond of Draxen, his only redeeming quality is that he cares for his brother Riden, other than that he’s pretty much a psychopath.

crazy

Riden: He is the most lovable character, and possibly the only person who could come close to outthinking Alosa (why they’re perfect for each other).

Mythology/World:

I haven’t read to many pirate books so it was awesome to read a book where a good 90% of it takes place on a ship. This is set in a fantasy world, where Alosas father who was originally one of the 3 pirate lords and eventually became the undisputed king of all pirates. Sirens also play a key role in this book and it was great to learn a lot more about these sea-dwelling creatures. The world itself is very rich and medieval(ish) and I can’t wait to learn more in the next book.

pirates gif

Have you read this book? What are some of your thoughts? Are there any other pirate books you would recommend? Let me know!!

4 thoughts on “Daughter Of The Pirate King Review

Leave a Reply

