April TBR: The Shortest One There Ever Was

I’m bad at reading books on my TBR, I think part of it stems from my deep rooted subconscious tendency to not do what people tell me to. No matter how excited I am to read a book, putting it on a TBR is a surefire way for me not to read it but let’s see if this month will be any different. April for me is going to be a very busy month, I’m taking both the SAT and the ACT this month. AP tests start on the first of May and I’m taking five, so I have to spend this month cramming pieces of history and studying for physics so I can manage a decent score. Since this month is going to be so hectic, I’m going to be taking it a little bit easy and so my TBR will be a little short this month. 

Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

daughterofthepiratekingsThere will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz surrounding this book and from the description alone I’m already hooked into this story. I haven’t read many books where the main character is a pirate and I’m really excited to read this.

Kings Cage by Victoria Aveyard

kingscagecoverIn this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

I need to read this!  I know this series is a little polarizing, everyone I know either loves it or it just falls flat for them, I am definitely the former. The last book ended on a sort of cliffhanger and I am filled with this burning need to know what will happen to the characters and how this is all going to resolve since this is the final installment.

Honorary members of this TBR:

Dawn Study by Maria V Snyder

dawnstudy1

Replica by Lauren Oliver

replica

I started both these books towards the end of February and I’m more of a quarter way through both, so as well as starting those two books, I’ll hopefully get around to finishing these as well.

Have you read any of these books? What are some book you want to read next year?

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “April TBR: The Shortest One There Ever Was

  1. I just recently bought Poison Study and I’m excited to read it, however I don’t know if I will be able to get to it this month, probably not.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

