Why I Am A Reader Tag

Today I have another tag for y’all. Have you ever wondered what defines me as a reader ,(probably not) or how I became the reader I am today (you probably don’t care)? Well, I saw this tag a couple of days ago over on Thrice Reads blog, and I thought it was pretty cool and wanted to give it a go. So without further ado, the Why I Am A Reader Tag.

  1. Choose one word that would describe you as a reader.

Obsessive. Whenever I discover a new genre I quickly become obsessed if I find that I like it, and for a time being that is ALL I will read. After a few weeks (or dozens of books) I’ll discover a new genre or re-discover an old favorite and then read nothing but that.obsessedgif

  1. What is the first book that made you fall in love with reading?

I feel like I answer this question differently each time, but I think it would have to be Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland. I went through this phase in elementary school, where I re-read it obsessively. Each week as a class we would check out 3 books, and I always ended up checking it out.

  1. Hardcover or paperback?

Paperback, because they are less heavy and bulky than hardcover and they’re easier to stuff into a bag when you’re on the go.

  1. How has reading shaped your identity?

My name is practically synonymous with reading. Ask anybody who knows me the first word that comes to mind when they think of me…the first answer would most definitely be books**. My entire personality is practically shaped around my love for reading (if that’s possible).bookwonder

**Unless they answered with quiet or awkward, in that case it would definitely be the second thing they would say

  1. What book do you read when you want to be comforted?

Harry Potter is one of the few books that I can re-read without becoming bored. It just makes me feel safe, and I can get totally lost in that world.

  1. Who influenced you to be a reader?

My parents definitely played a huge role in pushing me towards books. My mom hates technology and we didnt’t have a TV when I was younger and we had strict allotments of time for when we were allowed to use the computer, but my mom made sure that we went to the library every day after school. We would sit there for hours and read, and so as a kid my parents definitely pushed me down that rabbit hole of literature.***

***I’m not sure that analogy made any sense

  1. Describe your dream reading lounge.

My dream reading lounge would have to be a large comfy armchair right next to a crackling fire, like something you would see in the Gryffindor common room.gryffindorcommonroom

  1. What book changed the way you saw the world?

I’m actually currently reading this book called Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves The American Soul, its non fiction and talks about the racial issues that still plague our current day society, and it just made me aware of how even though society has progressed so much, that we still aren’t perfect yet.

What makes you a reader? Let’s discuss!

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Why I Am A Reader Tag

  1. That’s awesome that your mother played such a big role in your love of reading! And your dream reading lounge sounds amazing! I have to admit though, I actually hated Alice in Wonderland *hides behind desk* I read it, like, last year though, so I wonder if I might like it more had I first read it as a kid.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

