Why Time Travel Scares Me

I’m absolutely terrified of time travel, alternate universe and multiple dimensions. All these things that fall into the realm of theoretical physics I find extremely confusing and just really hard to understand. They make me terrified of their implications, especially in books. That’s not to say I don’t like books that use time travel as a plot device, I love Passenger by Alexandra Bracken, but hearing that the book is about time travel definitely makes me more hesitant to read it.

Sometimes, books try to explain the science behind these categories, such as in A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey, which focuses a lot on alternate universes and although I can tell the book is obviously well researched and that’s great, it definitely just manages to confuse me even further. If you want to attract readers like me, just say they crank this lever, you step into the machine and voila you are now in 1876. That’s all I need to know! complicatedgif

Another thing that puts me of time travel is the fact that it can affect and mess up the future. I tend to over think when it comes to reading and I just come up with so many things that can go wrong when it comes to time travel and it gives me so much anxiety…and not the good kind. This is partly inspired by a discussion I saw at Michelle @FaerieFits blog, and how there are so many different sub categories of time travel and it just got me thinking of time travel and all that sciency stuff in general, and how I tend to stay away from that sub genre in general.

What are your thoughts on time travel in books? Do you love it or hate it? 

 

8 thoughts on “Why Time Travel Scares Me

  1. I definitely hear you on the “Don’t make it too sciency” thing! I LOVE time travel (obviously), but I also tend to overthink it. There definitely needs to be enough interesting plot to keep me from focusing too much on the mechanics. 🙂

    Thanks for mentioning my post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t mind time travel as a device, but I definitely don’t want the author to try and explain it too much! If it’s overly complicated and scientific, I won’t understand it, and I get bored of those bits. I like how it works in the Outlander books – she just walks into a circle of standing stones and then disappears into the past. It’s nice and simple, and is basically just magic!
    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate time travel in books and try to avoid books that have it. It’s not even that it freaks me out, it’s that they rarely ever make sense. Like, every little thing they did would affect the future, so it doesn’t make sense that they could go back and do something and then the future would change but they’d still exist. Stuff like that. There’s almost always something that doesn’t make sense, and I get so frustrated!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

