A Conjuring of Light

Title: A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3)19186075-_sy540_

Author: V.E. Schwab

Release Date: February 21, 2017

Publisher: Tor Books

Page Number: 624 pages

Overall Thoughts:

A Conjuring of Light is hands down the best conclusion to a trilogy I have ever read. It was funny, heartbreaking, and had me on the edge of my seats and biting my nails down to a stub with everything going on. It was GREAT!!! I waited a while to write this review so I could get my thoughts in order but I’m still just speechless with how to describe the undying devotion I have towards this book.

Synopsis:

Witness the fate of beloved heroes – and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED…
The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell – once assumed to be the last surviving Antari – begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace – but never common – thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay

Plot:

ACOL moved at a great pace. It didn’t feel rushed, or dragged out (despite the fact it was like a million pages long).  Everything that happened just led to an explosive ending that I didn’t see coming. I spent half the book fearful for many of the characters lives, hoping that Schwab wouldn’t kill them off and break my heart. The book picks up right where AGOS leaves off, and the excitement only begins there. I can’t really get into much detail without it getting to spoilery since it is the third book in the series, I would advise if you haven’t read this yet do yourself a favor and pick up A Darker Shade of Magic NOW. You will not regret it.

“In myths, the hero survives.
The evil is vanquished.
The world is set right.
Sometimes there are celebrations, and sometimes there are funerals.
The dead are buried. The living move on.
Nothing changes.
Everything changes.
This is a myth.
This is not a myth.”

Characters:

Lila: We get to see a slightly different Lila in this book, she is still as funny and badass as ever, yet she comes to accept Kell’s place in her life.

“You think this is a bad idea,” he said. It wasn’t a question. But it sparked something in Lila, rekindled the fire in her eyes and ignited a grin.
“Without a doubt.”
“Then why are you smiling?”
“Because,” she said, “bad ideas are my favorite kind.”

Kell: He is still just as self-sacrificing as ever, although towards the end he decides to upend that hero complex he’s got going on and do stuff for himself. Kell and Lila’s romance is definitely  a lot stronger in this books and I just love them to together.

“I have never known what to make of you. Not since the day we met. And it terrifies me. You terrify me. And the idea of you walking away again, vanishing from my life, that terrifies me most of all.”

Rhy: Ever since the events of ADSOM, Rhy has been coming to terms with himself. He grapples with what his life now means, and he kind of fully matures (in a sense) in this book. He finally accepts his role and just comes to life.

“What are we drinking to?”
“The living,” said Rhy.
“The dead,” said Alucard and Lila at the same time.
“We’re being thorough,” added Rhy.”

Alucard: I LOVE Alucard, he goes through a lot in this book, but I loved watching how his friendship with Lila, and his animosity with Kell is beautifully portrayed. Rhy and Alucard are my ultimate OTP in this book, and I loved their dynamic although their path together, does have quite a few bumps.

“I told you to keep him safe, not cuddle.”
Alucard spread his hands behind him on the sheets. “I’m more than capable of multitasking”

World/ Writing:

Just like the first two books in the series, there are 4 different world that only a magic being called an Antari can travel through.  The majority of this book is spent in Red London although some of the other worlds also make an appearance. I love Schwab’s writing style, there are multiple point of views in this book, but each character has its own unique voice and nothing seems arbitrary

“It is an arrogant man that thinks himself a god.
And an arrogant god, thought Tieren, looking to the window, that thinks himself a man.”

Have you read A Conjuring of Light? What were your thoughts? Lets discuss!

Happy Reading!

 

5 thoughts on “A Conjuring of Light

  1. I love this series! I love this book! I actually DON’T have a favorite character because I LOVE THEM ALL! And I really couldn’t decide if I laughed more or cried more with this book in particular (which really confused my coworker who was just finishing ADSOM while I was reading this book, lol).

    Great review! And you picked some of my favorite quotes! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

