These Ruthless Deeds Review

theseruthlessdeedsBook Title: These Ruthless Deeds

Author: Tarun Shakur and Kelly Zekas

Release date: March 14 2017

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Page Count: 320 pages

Rating:2000px-3-5_stars-svg

 

Overall Thoughts:

I had a lot of fun reading this book, anything that takes place in Victorian England with fantastical elements is right up my ally. It did take me a little bit to get into this book because I couldn’t remember much of what had happened in the first book, but over the course of the first hundred pages most of the main events came back to me and I was able to enjoy it  a lot more.

Synopsis:

England, 1883. Still recovering from a devastating loss, Evelyn is determined to use her powers to save other gifted people from those who would harm them. But when her rescue of a young telekinetic girl goes terribly wrong, Evelyn finds herself indebted to a secret society devoted to recruiting and protecting people like Evelyn and her friends.

As she follows the Society’s orders, healing the sick and embarking on perilous recruitment missions, Evelyn sees her problems disappear. Her reputation is repaired, her friends are provided for, and her parents are newly wealthy. She reunites with the dashing Mr. Kent and recovers the reclusive Mr. Braddock (who has much less to brood over now that the Society can help him to control his dangerous power). But Evelyn can’t help fearing the Society is more sinister than it appears…

Characters:

Evelyn Wyndham: I don’t really have much to say about her, she was a great main character and I loved how she was more hesitant to trusting certain people and stuck to her beliefs though she was continuously pressured throughout this book.

Mr. Kent: He was hilarious, in some way he reminds me of Jace from the mortal instruments, because of his wit and slight narcissistic personality I was rooting for him and Evelyn the whole time but no spoilers.

The person who loves me will see me for who I am, good and bad, and sayYes, that’s the handsome gentlemen I have been hoping to meet all along, that handsome charming witty disarming, genius, remarkable, dashing-“

Sebastian: He was the other love interest and I honestly didn’t like him that much, his response to everything going wrong was to run away and I honestly didn’t think he was a good fit for Evelyn but no spoilers.

imnotsayingaword

Plot/Magic System:

I can’t really get into the plot without spoilers since it is the second book, but this book picks off a couple of months after the events in the first book, and we get to learn a lot more about the mysterious society that was mentioned in the first. The book definitely took a couple of twists ad turns I was not expecting and the last half of the book had me obsessively turning pages completely engrossed in the action. When I read the first book some time last year, it was pitched to me as X-men meets Jane Austen– and that is exactly what this book is. Taking place in Victorian England certain people are born with abilities such as healing, influencing the weather and walking through walls. It is a very unique and intriguing concept and you guys should definitely pick up the first book, These Vicious Masks.

This e-arc was provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Have you guys read this? What do you think? What superpower would you like to have?

3 thoughts on “These Ruthless Deeds Review

Leave a Reply

