Writing Update #2: The One in Which Very Little Actual Writing is Done

As you may guess from the title of this post, this month was not the best writing month. By the end of December I had a little over 11,000 words and now as I sit here writing this that number is now 11,234. I only wrote 200 words. It’s safe to say I’m very disappointed with myself, my goal was to reach 22000 words by the end of the month but as you can see that did not end up happening.

shamegif.gif

There were a couple of reasons that the writing just didn’t end up happening, one of those reasons being that I had my finals earlier this month, and that week was a bit of a mess. I wasn’t able to pry myself away from last-minute cramming to get any reading or blogging done that week much less carving out hours for writing time. In situations like these writing (sadly) has to go on the back burner.

ohwellgif

When I first started writing at the beginning of the month, I realized I was at a crossroads in my story, there were two paths I could take and I didn’t know which one to go down. I got stuck because I didn’t know what to do and I didn’t have any sort of outline to guide me. And each time I would sit to write I would get frustrated and give up after ten or fifteen minutes.

throwpapersgif

So I decided that the making up my story as I go along wasn’t going to help me get anywhere, and for that reason I’m going to outline. I’ve already started outlining and I have a better idea of the direction I’m going to go in with the story. Hopefully, I’ll finish outlining by the end of the week so I can get back to writing and get back on track with my writing goal.

That’s all for now! Are you currently writing something? How is it going? Are you more of an outliner or a make stuff up person?

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Writing Update #2: The One in Which Very Little Actual Writing is Done

  1. I hate those kinds of months/spots in your book. I’m actually doing fairly well right now — my goal had been to write 1000 words per week, and I’ve actually been closer to averaging 3000 per week. I’m sure I’m just making up for skipping weeks later though! I’ve learned the hard way that I get into so many slumps when I don’t have an outline to work with. I don’t always detail things out, but I at least have a high level outline for the trajectory of pretty much the whole book before I get started. Then I try to at least mentally think through the next few chapters every time I sit down to write. It’s helped a lot, but not so great when you get to the point of taking one of two (or more) paths. Best of luck working through it!

    ~ Michelle @ FaerieFits

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I’m curious about what your story is about and the genre 🙂
    I’m trying to write more too. I just need organize myself and set a goal and time to write. It’s really hard when you have other important things to do though. I’m currently world building still.
    I think I’m a bit of both when it comes to writing. I love thinking things up on the spot and letting all of my ideas flow out but, I agree, an outline is very useful to organize your ideas. To each to their own though. Everyone is different 🙂
    All the best and I look forward to hearing more about your writing journey :)!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

