A Gathering of Shadows Review

Title: A Gathering of Shadowsagatheringofshadows

Author: V.E Schwab

Release Date: February 23, 2016

Publisher: Tor Books

Page Count: 509

Rating:5_stars-svg

Overall thoughts:

I have no words to express just how amazing this book was. I loved Lila in the first book and Kell as well, and I fell in love with them a hundreds time more in this book. This was just absolute perfection from the writing style to the plot and down to that cliffhanger ending, if you haven’t read it yet, I would HIGHLY recommend reading the first book A Darker Shade of Magic then reading this.

Synopsis:

It has been four months since a mysterious obsidian stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Prince Rhy was wounded, and since the nefarious Dane twins of White London fell, and four months since the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift–back into Black London.

Now, restless after having given up his smuggling habit, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks as she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games–an extravagant international competition of magic meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries–a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

And while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night will reappear in the morning. But the balance of magic is ever perilous, and for one city to flourish, another London must fall.

Characters:

Lila Bard: She is just the same as ever, a bit of a daredevil with what seems like little regard for her life. Since parting ways with Kell in the last book she is (kind of) fulfilling her dream of being a pirate by learning from one of the best Alucard Emery. I love her character even though I don’t agree with every decision she made, she a bit too reckless but it works for her.

“Everyone thinks I have a death wish, you know? But I don’t want to die – dying is easy. No, I want to live, but getting close to death is the only way to feel alive. And once you do, it makes you realize that everything you were actually doing before wasn’t actually living. It was just making do. Call me crazy, but I think we do the best living when the stakes are high.”

Kell: He’s just as broody as ever, especially more so due to previously occurring events in the last book. I don’t really have much to say on him, but I do love him.

“Standing there on display was painful enough.
Now came the truly unfortunate task of socializing.”

Rhy: The prince…what can I say. He is definitely a lot different from the last book and i’m really intrigued by his storyline, He seems to be the only one (besides Lila) who genuinely cares for him and his well-being and sees him as a person, his brother, first and not just as an Antari.

“The prince shrugged. “Who needs magic when you look this good?”

Alucard Emery: He is  a new character and I love him and his interactions with Lila. Even though he isn’t that much older than her  and he is a sort of big brother-ish figure to her. He is also one half of my favorite ship-but I can’t say who because…spoilers.

“All right,” she said. She got to her feet and crossed to his desk, where her knife still sat atop the maps. She thought of the way he’d plucked it out of her grip. “But I want a favor in return.”
“Funny, I thought the favor was allowing you to remain on my ship, despite the fact you’re a liar, a thief, and a murderer. But please, do go on.”

imnotsayingaword

Plot:

From the first page to the last sentence I was hooked on the book. I love how we got play by plays of the Essen Tach and how it was a lot of the focus of the latter half of the book. There were so many moments that I just loved in the book, such as when certain characters finally saw each other again, and when a villain basically rose from the dead. Although there were a few things I caught ahead of time, the ending completely caught me by surprise and the book took a turn that I totally was not expecting and I can’t wait to get my hands on A Conjuring of Light.

imsoexcitedgif

And now THINGS I LEARNED

  1. Dead things never seem to stay dead.
  2. When dealing with an evil, malicious force, be sure to check the wording of your bargain before moving forward.
  3. You can never have too many knives.
  4. Being reckless is not a choice, it’s a lifestyle.
  5. Sometimes the damsel in distress, is a con in disguise.

So that was it for my spoiler free review. Have you read this? What did you think? LETS DISCUSS!

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “A Gathering of Shadows Review

  1. Ahhh I LOVED THIS REVIEW. *flails wildly* AGOS is actually one of the best books in existence, right?! 😍😍 Kell is my favourite, but Rhy is also everything and Lila is so badass she’s my hero. And omg all the sass!! All the terror! AND THAT CLIFFHANGER. That was just cruel eep.😭😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

