Writing Update #1

Hello everyone! If you didn’t know already, this year I decided to start writing a book. YAY! As a longtime bibliophile being an author has been my lifelong dream so I decided that I should try to take a go at it and see if I could actually write a book; or if I was any good at it. 

I started writing this book during NaNoWriMo this year and by the end of November I had about  9000 words, which I was very proud of since I had decided to take part in NaNoWriMo literally 3 days before it had started and had done very little preparation for the whole writing process. I just decided to start writing an idea that had been brewing in my mind for a while and just translate my thoughts onto paper…or a computer screen.

hand-writing-pen-butterfly-animated-gif

I stuck with it though, and I thought a good way to keep track of my writing progress now was to do a monthly writing update type thing. One of my resolutions for the upcoming year is to have a whole finished draft done hopefully before the summer. Right now I am working on what I call the zero draft because I’m kind of making stuff up as I go along, it seems to be working so far and I haven’t hit any roadblocks yet.

One of the things that makes it hard for me to write is that I have no outline for the novel. I’m literally going in blind. I have a rough idea for what I want to happen, but i’m stumbling along in the dark as I write this. It’s kind of like I decided to go on a road trip without a map. I know the end destination but have no idea how to get there. 

That is one of my problems as I write this but hopefully one of these days I’ll sit down and get a rough outline done to streamline the process. This month I sadly did not get as much writing done as I wanted to considering I’ve been on winter break for the past week and a half. I’ve only written 2,000 words this past month, 1500 of which i wrote the day before yesterday. I still have a couple of days left in the month so hopefully I’ll get some more writing done.  

I hope ya’ll enjoyed this, or found it even the slightest bit interesting. I hope you have a great day.

Happy Reading!

owl

3 thoughts on “Writing Update #1

  1. […] I started writing a first draft of a book during NaNoWriMo, and managed to hit 10k before the month was up. writing has been slow going because I have no outline to help me along but  I’m hoping that I’ll have a completed first draft before the year is up. I’m also doing monthly writing updates if you want to know more about that, you can find the first one here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

