TV Shows I’ve Been Watching Recently

I’ve been watching a lot of television recently, too much you could say. I definitely haven’t been reading as much as I usually do and I place that blame solely at the feet of Netflix. I’ve been watching and re-watching tons of shows to serve as distractions from everything and simply because there are so many good things to watch.

Vikings

I started watching Vikings earlier this year and I’m still going strong. I’m halfway through season four and am slowly but surely catching up. I took a bit of a break but now I put on an episode every once in a while so I don’t get to far behind. I love watching historical shows so this one was definitely up my alley and I’m loving it.vikingsquiznew_0 Read More »

Advertisements

The Ultimate Dilemma of What I Should Read Next

If you know me at all. You probably already know that I’m not the best at making decisions. I don’t have an overly complicated approach as I just tend to pick something and then follow it through not wasting too much time overanalyzing the potential outcome (how I sometimes choose what I read but I’ll get to that). That approach has served me well for the past 18 years but now that isn’t going so well. I now have to make a big life changing choice: where I’m going to college. Read More »

Blog Tour: To Discover a Divine Review

38924577Title: To Discover a Divine 

Author: Tessa McFionn

Release Date: March 20th 2018

Publisher: Fiery Seas Publishing

Rating:4_stars-svg

Synopsis:

When Kahlym cal Jhuen, freedom-fighting leader of the Chandar Stria, breaks into a prison ship controlled by the Rimmarian Thrall, he only expected to rescue two of his crew. But when he discovers a terrified female during his escape, he is immediately captivated by her unique beauty and makes a snap decision to take her with him. However, his good deed backfires when he learns he has stolen the Thrall Emperor’s prize.

Down to her last dollar, Evainne Wagner expected nothing out of the ordinary when she stepped out of her Boston apartment. Instead, she found herself in the middle of an intergalactic firefight, complete with strange soldiers with deadly weapons pointed directly at her. Salvation arrives in the nick of time in the form of a mysterious leather-clad warrior, skidding in and whisking her away. Trusting her heart, she follows, hoping to find answers as well as a way home.

Safely on board his ship, he learns more about her and her rare skills, triggering the memory of a half-forgotten prophecy spoken at the time of his cursed birth. Outcast because of a cruel twist of fate, he finds unexpected acceptance, even affection, from his new passenger.

Could she be the one who holds the future of his people, as well as his own heart, in her tender hands

Overall Thoughts:

I really, really enjoyed this book. It is sci-fi and it took me a bit to get into it. But once I figure it out I was sold. I haven’t read too many sci-fi books but whenever I do I end up loving them. So this book was yet another sign that I need to pick up more sci-fi. This was one of those books that stayed on my mind throughout the day when I wasn’t reading it.  I read this whenever I could find a spare moment, even neglecting a bit of homework until I managed to finish it up. It went by really quickly and I was able to finish it in one day and as soon as I did I wanted the next book in the series. 

Plot/Structure:

The pacing in this was great (although it did have some insta love I was able to get over it). I can tell that there was some groundwork being done for a bigger overall arc and I’m excited to see where this goes. The one criticism I did have was that I felt it was a bit short and wanted more from the story. The story it meant to tell was done beautifully, but I just wanted a little more. I amy just be spoiled by all the fantasy I’ve been reading lately but if it were a hundred or so pages longer it would have been even better. Despite that small thing the book overall was really good and I definitely plan on picking up the next one. 

About the Author:

Kq5Znk9d_400x400

Tessa McFionn is a very native Californian and has called Southern California home for most of her life, growing up in San Diego and attending college in Northern California and Orange County, only to return to San Diego to work as a teacher. Insatiably curious and imaginative, she loves to learn and discover, making her wicked knowledge of trivial facts an unwelcome guest at many Trivial Pursuit boards.  

When not writing, she can be found at the movies or at Disneyland with her husband, as well as family, friends or anyone who wants to play at the Happiest Place on Earth. She also finds her artistic soul fed through her passions for theatre, dance and music.

A proud parent of far too many high school seniors and two still living house plants, she also enjoys hockey, reading and playing Words With Friends to keep her vocabulary sharp. She is currently the treasurer of the San Diego chapter of Romance Writers of America and loves spending time working with such amazingly intelligent and creative writers.

Social Media: 

Facebook Twitter|Website|Blog

Buy Links:

Amazon|Kobo|Barnes&Nobles|iTunes

 

My Month In Books: March ’18 Edition

I’m not really sure how I feel about this past month, it actually went by really fast. A lot faster then I was expecting at any rate. There were a few ups and downs over these past few weeks, but I’ve managed to power through. The school year is almost over for me and that seems crazy. In a little more than two months I’ll have graduated from high school and I’m really not ready for that.

I’ve heard back from all my colleges at this point and after a few acceptances, some rejections and one waitlist, I now need to decide where I will spend the next four years of my life. I’ve been living in a constant state of denial trying to deal with the changes coming up ahead. So far my coping technique has been burying my head in the sand and attempting not to dwell on my future by distracting myself the best way I know how: reading. Because of that I’ve read quite a few books this month so let’s take a look at those very books.Read More »

The Lure of Fantasy

What makes fantasy so entrancing to me? Ever since I was little, fantasy has been the genre of choice. Starting with Alice in Wonderland and then the pull becoming much stronger when I read Harry Potter. Whenever anyone asks what my favorite type of books are my go to answer is fantasy and then there’s the inevitable follow up question. Why? Well, I am here to delve deep into my subconscious to try and explain exactly why I love fantasy and what about it attracts my attention.  uu9pmDPRead More »

Writing is Hard

Ok so I’ve been writing –or more accurately attempting to write– a book for almost two years now. Over the course of the past two years I’ve come to a very important realization. Writing is hard. I mean, I didn’t think it would be easy but I never expected it to be this difficult. It’s so difficult that I’ve contemplated scraping this current work-in-progress, but I’m sticking with it. Why? Partly determination and sheer stubbornness but also, an extremely wise and sage author once told me the secret to being a good writer was to finish what you write. Even as frustrated as I now am I’ve stuck with it. Read More »

All American Boys Review

25657130Title: All American Boys

Author: Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

Release date: September 29, 2015

Publisher: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books

Page number: 316

Rating:5_stars-svg

Synopsis:

Rashad is absent again today.

That’s the sidewalk graffiti that started it all…

Well, no, actually, a lady tripping over Rashad at the store, making him drop a bag of chips, was what started it all. Because it didn’t matter what Rashad said next—that it was an accident, that he wasn’t stealing—the cop just kept pounding him. Over and over, pummeling him into the pavement. So then Rashad, an ROTC kid with mad art skills, was absent again…and again…stuck in a hospital room. Why? Because it looked like he was stealing. And he was a black kid in baggy clothes. So he must have been stealing.

And that’s how it started.

And that’s what Quinn, a white kid, saw. He saw his best friend’s older brother beating the daylights out of a classmate. At first Quinn doesn’t tell a soul…He’s not even sure he understands it. And does it matter? The whole thing was caught on camera, anyway. But when the school—and nation—start to divide on what happens, blame spreads like wildfire fed by ugly words like “racism” and “police brutality.” Quinn realizes he’s got to understand it, because, bystander or not, he’s a part of history. He just has to figure out what side of history that will be.

Rashad and Quinn—one black, one white, both American—face the unspeakable truth that racism and prejudice didn’t die after the civil rights movement. There’s a future at stake, a future where no one else will have to be absent because of police brutality. They just have to risk everything to change the world.

Cuz that’s how it can end.

Read More »

The Sky Is Yours Review

34837145Title: The Sky Is Yours

Author: Chandler Klang Smith

Release date: January 23, 2018

Publisher: Hogarth

Pages: 464

Ratings2000px-2_stars-svg

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book from blogging for books in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts presented in the review are mine.

Synopsis:

A sprawling, genre-defying epic set in a dystopian metropolis plagued by dragons, this debut about what it’s like to be young in a very old world is pure storytelling pleasure

In the burned-out, futuristic city of Empire Island, three young people navigate a crumbling metropolis constantly under threat from a pair of dragons that circle the skies. When violence strikes, reality star Duncan Humphrey Ripple V, the spoiled scion of the metropolis’ last dynasty; Baroness Swan Lenore Dahlberg, his tempestuous, death-obsessed betrothed; and Abby, a feral beauty he discovered tossed out with the trash; are forced to flee everything they’ve ever known. As they wander toward the scalded heart of the city, they face fire, conspiracy, mayhem, unholy drugs, dragon-worshippers, and the monsters lurking inside themselves. In this bombshell of a novel, Chandler Klang Smith has imagined an unimaginable world: scathingly clever and gorgeously strange, The Sky Is Yours is at once faraway and disturbingly familiar, its singular chaos grounded in the universal realities of love, family, and the deeply human desire to survive at all costs.

The Sky Is Yours is incredibly cinematic, bawdy, rollicking, hilarious, and utterly unforgettable, a debut that readers who loved Cloud Atlas, Super Sad True Love Story, and Blade Runner will adore.

Read More »

My Month in Books: February’18 Edition

Another month and more books read. February was a weird month, looking back on it, it seems to have lasted forever, but it’s the shortest month. That probably has to do with the fact that I’m a second-semester senior and time just seems to be dragging on. I did manage to read a grand total of 16 books this month (YAY) and really enjoyed them.

In non-bookish news, the school year seems to be dragging on and college is looming large. Decisions need to be made-soon! as my parents keep reminding me- and I’ve had the last of my interviews over the past month. Back to book-ish news; I went to LibraryPalooza again this year, and had a lot of fun at that bookish convention. With all of that out of the way, let’s get back to why were here, the books I read this month:

belle-reading-gif.gifRead More »